Celebrating The Achievement Of Women In Business Across The Commonwealth

The Commonwealth Businesswomen’s Network (CBW) held the inaugural Commonwealth Businesswomen Awards during the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, the first celebration of women in business across the Commonwealth in the organisation’s history.

The Awards were expanded at the 2015 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Malta when the flagship award of Commonwealth Woman Entrepreneur of the Year was made by H. E. Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, President of Malta.

CBW will hold its 3rd Commonwealth Businesswomen Awards on 18 April 2018 during the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) hosted by the UK when leaders from all the member countries are expected to gather with women’s economic empowerment a key focus.

The Awards will be held at a Gala dinner/reception at a prestigious central London venue. The event will be by invitation only and self-financing with costs covered by sponsorship.

It will be heavily promoted including via Commonwealth, UK Government and partner channels and benefit from significant CHOGM promotion. A media partner(s) is/are being sought.

Business Women
Partner Continents

The world’s women purchase 80% of the world’s goods, provide two-thirds of the world’s labour, hold 10% of the world’s wealth – and just 1% of the property rights with women-owned businesses winning less than 1% of procurement contracts from governments and business.

Not fair. Not right. No sense. Time’s Up on this too.

Our 3 Aims

  1. Celebrate the achievement of women in business across the Commonwealth
  2. Build the CBW brand and communicate key initiatives, projects and plans as the only organisation recognised by Commonwealth Governments for women’s economic empowerment
  3. Establish a financial base to cover core CBW operational costs to enable delivery of its Trade, Talent and Training agenda

Award Winners November 2015

1. Commonwealth Women Entrepreneur of the Year Winner: Valrie Grant (Jamaica)
Shortlist: Vanessa Perumal (South Africa), Deborah Schembri (Malta) and Elizabeth Sullivan (Tonga)

2. Women on Boards – Company award: Johannesburg Stock Exchange

3. Women in Procurement – Government award: Kenya

4. Publication of the Year:  Women in STEM Careers, edited by Diana Bilimoria and Linley Lord 2014, publ. Edward Elgar, UK

5. Special Award to 1st Commonwealth Male Champion of Change:  Commonwealth Secretary General Kamalesh Sharma

6. Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Salima Ahmed, President, Pakistan Federation of Business & Professional Women’s Organization

7. Joint Award with the Commonwealth Fashion Council: Sunita Mukhi (Malta)

8. Special Commendation:  Bushra Farooqui (UK/Pakistan)

9. Commonwealth Media of the Year: BAM Media (Lesotho) and Media Prima Berhad (Malaysia)